quadasebo.blogg.se

Cygwin tutorial cygdrive
Cygwin tutorial cygdrive







cygwin tutorial cygdrive

Exercise 1b Use the commands ls, pwdand cdto explore the file system.

#Cygwin tutorial cygdrive windows#

Cygwin provide access to Windows drives through the cygdrive directory. However, ls /cygdrive/c says that it doesn't exist. /cygdrive/h/CygWin which means that CygWin (your home directory) is in the directory h (your windows directory), which is located in /cygdrive which is a special directory maintained by Cygwin. If I do ls /c from a Windows command prompt I get what you would expect, as list of everything in C. UPDATE: Here's something more interesting. Its installation is as simple as any Windows-based program with GUI based setup. It makes it easy to port certain specific applications on Windows and allows you to develop and use Linux-based scripts on Windows for various tasks. However, if I execute the command this way on the machine that gave me the error, it transfers just fine: scp /c/something.txt the differences? Is there something I need to configure within cygwin to make this work with /cygdrive/c? Cygwin is a useful utility that provides a UNIX/Linux-like shell emulated over a Windows environment.

cygwin tutorial cygdrive cygwin tutorial cygdrive

When I run the following command from a Windows Command Prompt, however, I get very different results between the two installations: scp /cygdrive/c/something.txt the one machine it transfers the file just fine, but on the other machine I get an error: /cygdrive/c/something.txt: No such file or directory I have c:\cygwin\bin in my Windows PATH in both cases. I'm having a weird issue with cygwin acting inconsistently between installations, specifically scp.









Cygwin tutorial cygdrive